#### EAST KENT HOSPITALS UNIVERSITY NHS FOUNDATION TRUST

REPORT TO: COUNCIL OF GOVERNORS – 16 MARCH 2015

SUBJECT: GOVERNOR ELECTIONS – DECLARATION OF RESULT

REPORT FROM: CHAIRMAN

PURPOSE: Information

#### **CONTEXT / REVIEW HISTORY /**

Governor elections were held in January/February 2015. The Election results are attached.

#### **SUMMARY:**

Elections were conducted in line with the Model Election Rules in line with the Trust's Constitution. UK engage was commissioned to conduct the Elections on behalf of the Trust.

The attached Declaration of Results confirms the following Governors have been elected to the Council:

## **Public - Ashford**

Jane Burnett Chris Warricker

#### **Public - Dover**

Sarah Andrews

## **Public - Shepway**

Philip Bull

Susan Seymour

# **Public - Thanet**

Reynagh Jarrett

## **Rest of England and Wales**

Eunice Lyons-Backhouse

#### Canterbury

Brian Glew (Uncontested)

Two public governor vacancies remain for Canterbury and Staff constituencies. A vacancy has also arisen within the Dover constituency following the recent resignation of Martina White. All three vacancies will be subject to a by-election which will commence shortly.

### **Nominated Governor Position**

Terms of office for the Nominated Governor composition expired on 28 February 2015. An exercise was undertaken inviting our stakeholders represented on the Council to review their positions. Michael Lyons and Geraint Davies will continue for a further three year term.

Patrick Heath has decided to stand down as Governor representing the six Local Authorities. Cllr Jane Martin from Ashford Borough Council joined the Council from 1 March 2015.

Debra Teasdale joined the Council recently representing University of Kent and Canterbury Christ Church University replacing Peter Jeffries who retired in August 2014.

A full list of the current Governor Composition is attached.

#### **COUNCIL OF GOVERNORS ACTION REQUIRED:**

To note the report



# **Declaration of Result**East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

As Returning Officer at the election of members to the Council of Governors held between 20<sup>th</sup> January 2014 and 12<sup>th</sup> February 2015, I hereby give notice that the number of votes recorded for each candidate was as follows:

# **Public Constituency - Ashford**

Name of Candidates	Number of Votes	
Paul Bartlett	90	
Jane Burnett	117	Elected
Chris Warricker	96	Elected

I declare that **Jane Burnett** & **Chris Warricker** are duly elected to the Council of Governors.

Electorate	1,132
Total Number of ballot papers returned	178
Turnout	15.72

### **Public Constituency – Dover**

Name of Candidates	Number of Votes	
Sarah Andrews CBE	94	Elected
Carol Coleman	35	
Paul Kennard	6	
Margo Laing	75	
Bernie Mayall	13	
Anthony Sansum	9	
David Walsh	32	

I declare that **Sarah Andrews CBE** is duly elected to the Council of Governors.





Electorate	1,469
Total Number of ballot papers returned	264
Turnout	17.97%

# **Public Constituency – Shepway**

Name of Candidates	Number of Votes	
Philip Bull	132	Elected
Alan Hewett	38	
June Howkins	38	
Michèle Low	41	
Susan Seymour	119	Elected

I declare that **Philip Bull** & **Susan Seymour** are duly elected to the Council of Governors.

Electorate	951
Total Number of ballot papers returned	201
Turnout	21.14%

# **Public Constituency – Thanet**

Name of Candidates	Number of Votes	
Lynne Frodsham	71	
William Henderson	48	
Reynagh Jarrett	134	Elected
Mike Pearce	58	

I declare that **Reynagh Jarret** is duly elected to the Council of Governors.

Electorate	2,202
Total Number of ballot papers returned	314
Turnout	14.26%





# Public Constituency - Rest of England & Wales

Name of Candidates	Number of Votes	
Eunice Lyons-Backhouse	21	Elected
Chris Pink	20	

I declare that **Eunice Lyons-Backhouse** is duly elected to the Council of Governors.

Electorate	1,788
Total Number of ballot papers returned	42
Turnout	2.35%

Tony Stokes

Tony Slater Returning Officer

UK Engage, Image House, 10 Acorn Business Park, Heaton Lane, Stockport

SK4 1AS

Tel: 0345 209 3770 Fax: 0161 209 4804

Email: eastkent@uk-engage.org

12 February 2015



## **GOVERNOR COMPOSITION – AS AT MARCH 2015**

Constituency	Name	Term of Office ends
Ashford Borough Council	Junetta Whorwell Jane Burnett Chris Warricker	28/02/2017 28/02/2018 28/02/2018
Canterbury City Council	Philip Wells Brian Glew Vacancy	28/02/2017 28/02/2018 (Re-elected 03/15) Subject to by-election 2015/16
Dover District Council	Carol George Sarah Andrews Vacancy	28/02/2017 28/02/2018 Subject to by-election 2015/16
Shepway District Council	John Sewell Philip Bull Susan Seymour	28/02/2017 28/02/2018 28/02/2018
Swale Borough Council	Paul Durkin Matt Williams	28/02/2018 (Re-elected 03/15) 28/02/2018 (Appointed 07/14 and Re-elected 03/15)
Thanet District Council	Reynagh Jarrett Marcella Warburton Roy Dexter	28/02/2018 (Re-elected 03/15) 28/02/2017 28/02/2017
Staff	Mandy Carliell David Bogard Vikki Hughes Vacancy	28/02/2017 28/02/2017 28/02/2017 Subject to by-election 2015/16
Rest of England and Wales	Eunice Lyons- Backhouse	28/02/2018 (Re-elected 03/15)
University Representation (Joint appointment by Canterbury Christ Church University and University of Kent)	Debra Teasdale	31/10/2017 (Joined 01/11/14)
Local Authorities	Cllr Jane Martin	28/02/2018
South East Coast Ambulance Services NHS Foundation Trust	Geraint Davies	28/02/2018
Volunteers working with the Trust	Michael Lyons	28/02/2018