.

Open Days and Work Experience

Each year we offer 3 Work Experience days and 2 Open Days for year 12 and 13 students (or equivalent) who wish to read Physiotherapy or Occupational Therapy at University.

We can also offer this to people who have the right A levels, Baccalaureate, Scottish Higher or BTech in Health Studies.

Criteria for Eligibility for Open Days and or Work Experience

We do have strict criteria for eligibility:-

  • Must be aged 16 or over
  • Must have Physiotherapy as first choice for attendance on the Physiotherapy Open Day at Kent and Canterbury or for work experience at William Harvey Ashford or QEQM Margate.
  • Must have OT as first choice for OT work experience at any of the three main sites a/a
  • Preferably live in east Kent.
  • Must have or be studying towards A -levels (or equivalent) that fulfil the entry requirements for Physiotherapy or Occupational Therapy.

Entry Requirements for University

Physiotherapy requires:

  • 3 A levels, one must be a biological science, one other science and either a third science or other academic subject.
  • Grades required are AAB to BBB depending on the University.
  • You need to check for Baccalaureate points, Scottish Higher or BTech in Health Studies on the University Website admissions requirements.

There are no Universities in Kent that offer a BSc (Hons) degree in Physiotherapy. There is a list of universities on the Chartered Society of Physiotherapy website.

All physiotherapy degree courses in the UK now hold CSP approval - that's 35 qualifying programmes from different providers throughout the UK: The link below will take you to the relevant information pages:

http://www.csp.org.uk/professional-union/careers-development/career-physiotherapy/physiotherapy-degrees

Occupational Therapy requires:

  • 3 A levels
  • 1 science &
  • 2 other subjects’ grades between BBC to CCC depending on the University.
  • There is one university in Kent that offers a BSc (Hons) degree in Occupational Therapy, Canterbury Christchurch University.

Speech and Language Therapy requires:

  • 3 A levels, AAB or equivalent.
  • A mixture of Humanities and Science subjects is an advantage, especially Biology, English Language, a modern foreign language or Psychology.
  • You need to check for Baccalaureate points, Scottish Higher or BTech in Health Studies on the University website admissions requirements.
  • The nearest university is Medway campus which is part of the University of Greenwich.

Contacts for enquiries regarding Open Day or Work Experience

Physiotherapy

Kent & Canterbury Hospital 

Physiotherapy Open Days are run three times a year, March, July and October

Contact Julia Dekker- julia.dekker@nhs.net

Queen Elizabeth Queen Mother Hospital, Margate

Contact Chris Jordan on chris.jordan3@nhs.net or Sophie Aldred on sophie.aldred1@nhs.net

William Harvey Hospital, Ashford

Contact Heather Seath - heather.seath@nhs.net


Occupational Therapy

Kent & Canterbury Hospital 

Contact Julia Dekker - julia.dekker@nhs.net

Queen Elizabeth Queen Mother Hospital

Contact Sonia Pepper - sonia.pepper@nhs.net

William Harvey Hospital, Ashford 

Contact Heather Seath - heather.seath@nhs.net


Speech and Language Therapy

Contact Claire Salway - claire.salway@nhs.net