Council of Governors

Welcome to the Council of Governors webpages.

Please use the links to the left to view information about the role of the Governors, agendas and minutes from our meetings, find out about our Committees and read about past Annual Members' Meetings / Annual General Meetings.

Find out more:


Election news 

January 2020 Election: Results

Nick Hulme was elected unopposed to the vacancy in the Ashford Constituency.

There were no candidates for the vacancy in the Folkestone & Hythe Constituency.



Autumn Election: Results

Jane Martin and Carl Plummer have been elected as Public Governors representing the Ashford and Folkestone & Hythe Constituencies respectively.  Their terms of office commenced immediately and will end on 28 February 2021.

The following have been elected as Governors with terms of office commencing on 1 March 2020 and ending on 28 February 2023:

Graeme Sergeant - Public Governor, Canterbury

John East - Public Governor, Dover (re-elected)

Rebekah Marks-Hubbard - Public Governor, Fokestone & Hythe - withdrawn, a new election will take place early next year.

Paul Schofield - Public Governor, Thanet

Marcella Warburton - Public Governor Thanet (re-elected)

Julie Pain - Staff Governor

Sally Wilson - Staff Governor


Ashford, Canterbury, Dover, Folkestone & Hythe, Thanet, Staff.

Notice is hereby given that elections will be held for the Council of Governors for East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust. There will be elections for both Public and Staff Governors.

Download the Notice of Election

Download the Notice of Poll

If you are interested in becoming a Governor, you can find out more from Amanda Bedford, Governor and Membership Lead, on 01233 651891 or via  foundationtrust@nhs.net email.

Who are your Governors?

Click on the photos below to find out more about your Governors:

Jane Martin, Public: Ashford
Jane Martin, Public: Ashford
Nick Hulme
Nick Hulme, Public: Ashford
Alex Lister
Alex Lister, Public: Canterbury
Graeme Sargeant
Graeme Sargeant, Public: Canterbury
Bernie Mayall, Governor for Dover
Bernie Mayall, Public: Dover
Dover Governor Dr John Read
John East, Governor, Dover

Carl Plummer
Carl Plummer, Public: Folkestone and Hythe
Governor picture placeholder
Vacant, Public: Folkestone and Hythe
Jenny Chittenden
Jenny Chittenden, Public: Swale
Ken Rogers
Ken Rogers, Public: Swale
Paul Schofield
Paul Schofield, Public: Thanet
Marcella Warburton, Public: Thanet
Marcella Warburton, Public: Thanet

Julie Barker
Julie Barker, Rest of England and Wales

Debra Teasdale, Partnership Governor
Debra Towse: Partnership, Universities
Bob Bayford
Robert Bayford: Partnership: Local authorities
Nick Wells Governor
Nick Wells, Partnership: Volunteers

Julie Pain
Julie Pain, Staff
Sally Wilson
Sally Wilson, Staff
Carla Wearing
Carla Wearing, Staff

Contact us

You can contact the council of governors by emailing ekh-tr.governorsquestions@nhs.net or by letter to:

The Council of Governors Membership Office: 

Management Offices
William Harvey Hospital
Kennington Road
TN24 0LZ

Back to the top